The Starry Night

What stars abound,

the stars that aren’t yet found,

the stars that shine of hope,

but have departed quite some time ago,

And have only left their ghostly glow,

The aftermath of their legacy.

I wish I could fly to each one,

as they spiral towards the dark abyss,

as they shoot life creating matter here and there,

boldly going where no man goes,

staring empty space in the face.

In their residue,

at the speed of light,

dancing upon my rods and cones,

is a message,

an invitation to be friends from afar,

my earthly prison and my short life despair,

for science may not reconcile it’s affair,

In time for me to kiss their hands of light,

And tell them directly staring at their face,

Your light has illuminated my darkest night.

And so, I shall yearn and mourn each photon sent my way,

And bear patiently day after day,

That I will never meet you in life face to face,

But will gather wishes from you as you fall today,

A shooting star who has robbed my pains away.

Leave a comment